Tags

, , , , , ,

Yesterday saw my first visit to Cosmeston Lakes Country Park, just outside Penarth, here in south Wales. And what a fabulous place it is! With two former quarries now filled to form lakes, large meadows, seemingly endless tree-lined walks and an extensive woodland, it’s perfect for everything from family picnics and walking the dog, jogging and mountain-biking, to exercising the pony and birdwatching. I’ll certainly be heading back there again soon.

0 great tit

As I’m mad keen on birds I particularly enjoyed my wonderful long wander through Cogan Wood. The place was alive with all the little birds I love the most, and the most prolific of these were the Great tits and Blue tits. Though the weather was not particularly cold and there was plenty of natural food around for them, they acted like they were starving and, in the most wonderful way, I was almost mobbed by them as I walked along. I tell ya, those critters can smell seed even when it’s tucked away in a plastic box in a backpack! I rewarded them well for all the delightful photo opportunities they provided.

1 blue tit2 great tit3 blue tit4 great tit5 blue tit6 great tit7 blue tit

