Tags

, , , ,

Spring has sprung, the grass is riz, I wonder where Dawn’s leaf growth is? From a distance, Dawn Redwood looks much the same as she did last month. It’s only when you get closer that you can see the fresh green buds just beginning to open now that the days are getting warmer and brighter.

160409 dawn redwood (1)160409 dawn redwood (3)

Having said that, it was blowing a gale when I visited a few days ago, a cold howling wind that prevented me from getting better close up photos of the new growth. That wind did, however, make me admire how well Dawn copes with such conditions. She has her feet well and truly planted in the ground, which is a good thing when you consider how tall and slender she is, and I’m sure her broad strong base helps anchor her when those strong winds are blasting.

160409 dawn redwood (2)

She has a light covering of bright green moss on the lowest metre or so of her trunk but no lichens or fungi that I could see with the naked eye, which is probably a good thing, as they can be indicators of disease or cause a tree to die – and I certainly don’t want that to happen. I’m looking forward to seeing a very different Dawn next month.

Tree following is fun. Why not join in? You can find out more here. https://squirrelbasket.wordpress.com/tree-following/

