Tags

, , , , , ,

‘Tis that time of year when everywhere you look there are trees in blossom. The whites and pinks of the various prunus species grace the lawns in Bute and the various other public parks, and line the pathways at Cathays Cemetery. In wilder places, blackthorns are covered in their snow-like blooms, providing a feast for the bees and hoverflies now emerging in huge numbers from their winter hibernation. And, here in Cardiff, magnolias are often used as street trees – I take my hat off to the urban planner who made that decision! – and are currently making a gorgeous spectacle of themselves.

160422 blossom (1)

On my daily walks I seem constantly to be smiling at the beauty of the blossom all around me, and I ignore the strange looks of those who appear to think that stopping to admire a tree means I’m a crazy woman. I often think the world would be a better place if more people took the time to drink in the beauty all around them – so, please, if it’s spring where you are, stop, look and love the blossom!

