Tags

, , , , ,

I used the word anonymous in my title because I’m not entirely sure what all of these animals are. And I use the word ‘antelopes’ in the broadest possible sense, as my photos may well include creatures that are not strictly speaking members of the antelope family. The trouble is that when you go on safari in a country like Tanzania, it’s far too easy to be overwhelmed by and enraptured with the less common, more sensational animals (the lions and leopards and cheetahs), so the ‘antelopes’, though no less interesting in themselves, tend to get ignored just a little.

160713 antelopes (7)

Having said that I did have to sort through more than a hundred ‘antelope’ photos when choosing which to include in this post. And, because I knew I would forget them, I did ask our guides the names of what we were seeing and made a list – I’m just not sure now which is which on that list. So, these photos may or may not include: impala, topi, Thomson’s gazelle, Grant’s gazelle, dik-dik, waterbuck, bushbuck, Cape eland, and Coke’s hartebeest.

