Tags

, , , , , ,

I love how there is always some nature-related initiative happening somewhere in Britain. I do think they’re not always well advertised – I only found out about National Tree Week by chance when scrolling through my Twitter feed yesterday – but, wherever possible, if I find out about something, I will try to support it, if only by spreading the word in my own rather limited way.

161128-pontcanna-trees-1-summer

Anyhoo, National Tree Week, which is now in its 41st year, is the brainchild of The Tree Council and is punted as Britain’s ‘biggest annual festival of trees’. It’s a time to improve your view, to fight the ravages of time, weather and tree diseases, to provide a home for wildlife, to renew and restore the landscape, to provide natural flood defences, to improve air quality, all by planting trees. Even a small tree in your own backyard will make a significant contribution so, choose wisely, and get out and a plant a tree this week.

161128-pontcanna-trees-2-autumn

The trees in my photographs today are in Pontcanna Fields here in Cardiff. It’s a wonderful young avenue of trees that looks glorious whatever the season.

161128-pontcanna-trees-3-winter

