Tags

, , , , ,

Lunch! Yum! Still twitching and a bit of a slippery treat but this will certainly fill a gap.

170213-herring-gull-with-fish-1

Intruder alert! Someone’s noticed the tasty snack and tries to grab it.

170213-herring-gull-with-fish-2

Oh no! It’s too slippery to hold. Going … going …

170213-herring-gull-with-fish-3

This young Herring gull did well to catch itself such a substantial fish for its lunch but, unfortunately, couldn’t hold on when bullied by another gull. I’m fairly sure the fish fell on to the metal surface about 20 feet below and this youngster did fly down there to look but couldn’t find its fish and soon flew off to try again.

I apologise for the poor quality of these images. Sometimes I find my desire to show the story outweighs my desire to get perfect photos.

