Tags

, , , ,

I’ve been finding a lot of fungi recently on the bottoms of the dead stalks of last year’s umbellifers. They’re all exceedingly small and difficult to identify (which I find rather frustrating) but also rather gorgeous (which is why I have so far kept looking for them). This is one I was able to identify with help from my fungi friends and associates and a little microscope work. Its current name is Belonidium mollissimum (but it’s had a long list of other names – fungi keep being re-classified and renamed as researchers examine them and their DNA more carefully!) and the largest of its cups is just 1mm wide. This is a series of photos taken over the past two weeks to show how this tiny fungus has changed in that time.

170331 Belonidium mollissimum 17March

17 March, when first discovered

170331 Belonidium mollissimum 19March

19 March

170331 Belonidium mollissimum 25March

25 March

170331 Belonidium mollissimum 31March

31 March

